>>>What Are You Tying Today? Part II

Status
Not open for further replies.
F

Fishidiot

Folks,
Let's continue our fly tying posts here. It's bitter cold out and there's never a better time to tie flies! So let's see what yuh got. . .

EDIT: This thread is a continuation of the previous thread of the same title which was closed due to the thread size You can view the previous thread (but not post) here.

Last edited by a moderator:
Been tying up these. I am relatively new at tying but like the way they are turning out. I was told by Wilcox that these are deadly as a dropper when BWO's are emerging.

Wilcox Green Machine, size 18:

Attachments

• image1.jpg
    image1.jpg
    14.8 KB · Views: 7
I am tying a little of everything getting ready for a show. I would like to share a pattern with everyone. This is a Tubifex worm. Take a size 16 standard shank hook. Use medium bright colored red thread (I like 6/0 unithread) and wrap it from front to back and then back over it again .Whip finish it. That's it. This will usually out fish the more complicated pattern with more steps and materials. This worm is a sewage worm. It can and does live in very poor quality polluted water. Every stocked hatchery fish has eaten them as well as many lake and mud bottom streams fish. Bigspring used to be my #1 stream to fish them on. Now that the hatchery is gone it does not seem as important as it once was.

Tubifex tubifex is the critter responsible for whirling desease.

Tried these the other night.

Shawn, nice looking ties there. Yuo should come and tie with us some time.

GenCon

McGinty_zps87955f73.jpg