Tully Risers

Andrwhite610

Andrwhite610

I’ve recently been fishing the Tulpehocken very frequently in the mornings. I’m very new to fly fishing so have no experience targeting rising fish. I’ve been having success on nymphs and a few eats on my stimulator that I use mostly as an indicator for dry dropper. I often see many fish rising and especially this morning. The flat I was fishing was going off with fish some definitely trout. They were leaping out of the water and sometimes twice at what I guess was their target. I did not notice any obvious insects in the air or on the water. I did see some very, very tiny flies on the surface. Unfortunately did not get a photo. Is this what they are after? I knew I didn’t have anything similar or small enough in my box to try to match what I saw. I didn’t get too frustrated and continued focus on the nymph fishing. Maybe someone familiar with the Tully can clue me in. Thanks for reading!

I don't fish the Tully but I do fish limestone creeks...

That sounds like they were chasing the Little Black Caddis which flutter inches above the water. You can barely see them because of their size & color but if you get your head down as low to the water as possible you might.

I use a size 16 or 18 all black Elk Wing Caddis to imitate them or a similar sized Black Gnat. If you don't tie flies or have similar patterns, fish something that size that is all black or any caddis pattern that small.

BTW - A week ago I caught fish on a black beetle pattern when they were chasing Little Black Caddis...

Good luck!

Last edited:
You mention some trout rising twice. That sounds like trout chasing emerging caddis.

During the rises, did the trout's mouth only break the water surface or did the whole trout come through he water surface like an aerial acrobat?

You mention some trout rising twice. That sounds like trout chasing emerging caddis.