Tippet Ring

S

steve98

Saw this mentioned in another thread. Just what is a tippet ring?

ty
Steve98

It's an rather smart piece of gear which is just a tiny and strong metal ring. It can be used to tie tippet to, add a dropper from, etc, all by using common knots like a clinch. They make a leader last much longer due to not having to constantly lose part of your leader to add tippet.

i am a newbie and just started using them and love them. makes things much easier for me. i use the 2mm or 2.5mm.

4 years? Wow WT2, that is truly impressive.
I can second that. I typically only change mine once a year, and that is just to err on the side of caution. With a mono rig for nymphing or even a furled leader for other applications, one ought to do you a good long time. I like the bigger ones, even up to the "steelhead" size, which will last forever and seem to be even more knot friendly on tippet, perhaps because of the added and more rounded surface area.

Where do you place the ring on the leader?
Can it be used while fishing dries?

TY
Steve 98

Tie the tippet ring to the end of the leader using a clinch knot… tie the tippet to the tippet ring using a clinch knot….and off you go.

Yes you can use them for dry fly fishing

One problem with tippet rings is that they're tiny and easy to drop.
I get around this by tying them on to 4lb mono (at my tying bench) and then cutting off about a two inch tail. I then tape several of my ring/line units into a small plastic box (from dental picks).
If I have to replace a ring on the stream, I just take out one of my pre-tied rings, tie it to the leader and snip off the holding mono.