Logging On Clark Creek

salmo

salmo

While fishing Clark's above the reservoir last week I noticed a good amount of logging. Most of the activity seemed to be across the road from the stream. There did not appear to be much in the way of silt fencing or ways to reduce runoff. Since I am relatively new to the Creek I was wondering if others were concerned. Some of the logging was in the "watershed" area where other dangerous activities like fishing are prohibited. I am not opposed to logging, but hope logging companies practice environmentally safe logging to reduce runoff and other stream damage.

Does anybody know where I can get the regulations on activities in the Dehart watershed?

I'm not sure Salmo, but last year at this Time, Jayl, myself and a few others from the board were there and noticed serious runoff coming from those sites. I called DFTU's stream steward who gave me a number for the local WCO, who called me right back and told me he'd go check it out in the morning. I've never really heard back from him, but I checked it out last week when I was up. They actually do have limestone buffers on the down slopes, just not between the site and the road, so the small tribs should be relatively insulated from runoff, which was not the case at all last year. If anything it might be bad for a year class or two, then the brush around the small tribs will actually be thicker than before, as far as I can tell. I might be a bit biased, though, being a grouse hunter.

Boyer

Can anybody tell me if you are allowed to fish immediately upstream from the reservoir? I saw the posting signs for the Dehart Reservoir and I thought it said no fishing in the watershed area. On close inspection of the stream banks it was clear that the area I was fishing had been regularly fished.