Rod and reel combo feedback

wgmiller

wgmiller

I'm looking to make the big leap to fly fishing in the very near future and would like to pick up a rod/reel combo just to make life easy. I'm looking to drop no more than $150 since I'm just getting into it and to learn the art. I know $150 doesn't buy much these days, but I've already spent my "allowance" this year on other fishing gear (waders, tackle, vest, etc.), so I'm trying to hold tight to a $150 budget on a rod and reel. I'm aware that ancillary tackle (flies, tippets, etc.) will tack on some additional cost.

That being said, I was up at Bass Pro Shops a few weeks ago and started to nose through their fly shop. A rod/reel combo was pointed out to me which I'm pretty sure was this setup. All of the rod/reel combos appeared to be of decent quality and the online reviews all seemed positive.

The fish I'll be using my fly gear for will be mostly trout with the occasional panfish or bass outing. No steelheads or anything bigger like that. The areas I'll be fishing will be mostly freshwater small creeks and streams (Donegal Creek, Lititz Run, etc.) with the widest being the Sinnemahoning Creek which can have plenty of width along its length. I'd like a four piece rod that'll break down for easy transport. In doing some research, a 6 wt., 8'6" rod is what I've been coming up with.

Does anyone have any feedback?

You could also do something like THIS
I have this rod and I like it...a little stiffer (faster) than the Hobbs creek. They offer other reels that would save you money.

Personally I would also go with a 9ft 5wt...6wt might be a little much for panfish and most trout. I like the length for streamers and nymphing. Unless you are going to fish a lot of tight water with lots of overhanging vegetation (and even then sometimes I like the longer rod) I wouldn't go any shorter than 8'6"...but thats just me...