Beginner's Dry Flies?

A

a23fish

Although I've been using a fly rod for 2 years, I've done very little with dry flies. But today I had a chance to fish a couple when I found a group of fish eating on top. Long story short, I had 2 fish eat each of the 2 dry flies I used, and missed hooking all 4. I'm sure my lack of success was due to very little experience, substandard drifts, and slow reactions. However, the one thing that gave me the most difficulty was seeing the flies throughout the drift. I could track them most of the time but not all the time.

The 2 flies I had were a #14 tan elk hair caddis the another angler generously gave me, plus a small #16? blackish-brownish something that someone else gave me. Despite my results, I would like to keep a few dries with me for future attempts. So, what are 3 basic dry flies to carry? What size? And I really need something easy to see. I could easily track the #10 or 12 Chubby Chernobyl I was using earlier with a nymph underneath, and even had a trout hit that. Missed that one too. Basically shocked anything hit it.

Are you trying to tie them? If so, a good beginner dry is any comparadun pattern. if you want 3, dub them in white, black, and olive. Hold off on extra wings and palmering until you've had some practice.

If you're simply asking what to buy, then go to the shop and get some more of those elk hair caddis, some BWOs and sulfurs (light Hendrickson or light Cahill work) in about 14, some ants from small to large, and some stimulators.

That closer to 6 than 3, but that's a solid dry fly foundation. If you want to splurge for another $2, add an Adams

Adams, BWO, Light Cahill, Caddis. I don't know how old you are but parachute patterns on the Adams and BWO will help you see them. Have a few sizes of each and then approximate color and size to what you see floating by. When the fly sinks at the end of the drift, twitch it a couple times before picking it up.