LM Bass go to fly?

bassfever

bassfever

Question- (Sorry, I am New to fly fishing.)
I like to fish for LM bass, usually at Marsh Creek Lake in SE PA.
With spinning gear, I have alot of success with a version of the "SENKO". My "go to" bait.

Now with fly fishing I am sort of lost.

Is there a favorite "go to" fly/bait for bass for fly fishing?

Any help will be appreciated.
Thanks,
Tom

Anything that pushes a lot of water, really. For me, I'm always going to big poppers for the LMB. Green frog type poppers, or big white ones work best for me.

White with a little red has worked well for me in poppers and streamers at Marsh Creek.

Here is the streamer (Movin & Groovin) that has done well there. Was trying to find the deer hair popper pic but couldn't, it is all white except for the front third of which is red.

Attachments

• Bass-Muskie Streamer-small.jpg
    Bass-Muskie Streamer-small.jpg
    122.4 KB · Views: 3
I use senko flies.....

Attachments

• 8-2-09 009.jpg
    8-2-09 009.jpg
    31.9 KB · Views: 3
  • 8-2-09 008.jpg
    8-2-09 008.jpg
    25.4 KB · Views: 3
White wooly buggers, poppers, and clousers. I could fish those all day for bass and never miss a beat.

Awesome info- thank you.

Sandfly-
Are these flies you tied yourself, or are they available to buy somewhere?.

Looks great.

I remember a couple years ago when few people were fishing senkos and it was a legendary bait. They arent nearly as effective now since so many people fish them. I still prefer spinning gear for largemouth, but I have caught my fair share on clousers--classic chart. and white. How big are the bass you target? I know some small ponds where you can have a blast sight casting hoppers to 12" LM. Still like I said, LM is the only fish I do not enjoy pursuing on the fly. In fact, I rarely fish for them.