Carp Advice

jifigz

jifigz

The Juniata River borders my front yard and I spend a pretty good chunk of time fishing it year round. There are some dandy carp in there that I have caught on spinning and baitcasting equipment with various homemade baits with great success, but now I am interested in trying to fool these monsters with my fly rod. Any advice on flies and/or tactics that people have had great success with for carp?

BTW, I am REALLY new to fly fishing and have only had a rod for a short time. I bought a 6 weight because I figured it would be a good rod for both trout and bass. Due to the Juniata being in my front yard and the smallmouth fishing being fantastic this is the type of fly fishing I will be doing most often, but is the 6 weight hefty enough for carp or should I look into a beefier rod? The Juniata has some real hogs in it with fish over 20 lbs very common and the state record came from the river at roughly 55 lbs.

I've caught some really monster carp in the Juniata, but not on fly rod. (Mostly at night on crayfish lures while fishing for walleye.) I've considered going for them during big hatches and cicada times in the late summer evenings.

Fly rod stoutness and line size are more considerations for fly size and fish size.

I've done most of my carp fishing on smaller limestone streams with fish less than 10 lbs. But then I've eaten some of those. I'd never eat anything out of the Juniata.

I only fished the J once, but man if those weren't some of the biggest carp I've seen.

If a new rod is an option, I'd go up to an 8wt...esp for the river. It'll help toss bigger bass bugs too.