What Flies ?

G

greenhead

Went to purchase some dries that you guys reccomended and was also going to order some nymphs but didn't know what sizes. What sizes are good for trout. Right now all of my nymphs are sz 14. What size sucker spawns should I buy ? Dries ? Nymphs ? Sorry if im being a pain. Im new to the sport.

Sometimes describing flies by hook size can be misleading. In some cases it's more accurate to describe flies by their size. In the case of nymphs, you've got 14s which are a good all around size. I'd get a few bigger ones and smaller too. Some stoneflies would be good - they're large, typically about an inch long (size 8-12?). These are good just about everywhere, esp out West, where you have medium to large freestone rivers. Smaller nymphs, like the Hare's Ear or Copper John would be good to have in sizes of about one quarter to one half inch, not counting the tail. This would probably mean hooks from #20 to about #16. Some scuds or cress bugs in this size would also be good for spring creeks - have 'em in olive or grey. For sucker spawn: it comes in many colors, I like pink and orange - the "clump" is about a quarter inch in diameter - about the size of a pea, a bit bigger would not hurt.

That's kind of hard to answer because it depends on the flys, and sometimes on the time of year. But I'll take a stab at it.