Taking a step back

• Thread starter mike_richardson
  • Start date
mike_richardson

mike_richardson

I am no expert at fly fishing but I had the opportunity to teach a good friend of mine to fly fish. I had gave him some pointers on casting and mending and such and just sat back. We were fishing on the Little Conemaugh so i knew every fish in the hole by name and birthday pretty much. I set him up with the best flies to use on this stream.(BHPT size 14 with a Beaded caddis larva from my post in the tying forum.) After about a half hour of him learning he got a serious tangle and wanted to sit on the bank and watch me and untangle. I told him i would rather not but he insisted. I had put on a size 10 beaded squirrel nymph and a brown beaded caddis. I put the big honking nymph on to hopefully not get a hit and the brown caddis was a test since i never used it.

Bam! second cast nailed a 10" rainbow. He says "how in the heck did you do that!" i told him that i had casted right where he was but put a little better mend and kept my tip up to get a better drift. After i nailed the little rainbow i sat down and told him there are still a few more in the hole including the big boy.

After 20 mins of nothing I decided to go above where the riffle first comes in. Bam! hooked the big boy. I yelled to him to take the rod. Just then the big rainbow jumps out of the water and he exclaims "I don'y want to lose that fish he is big." i just laughed and said "just take the rod!"

So here is his real education. He starts to fight the fish. "How is he fighting like this?"...."Mike, i can't even turn him" I went down stream and got the fish after the fight. I looked at him and said, " a little different than spin fishing huh." The fish was a 16" rainbow that was about as pretty as a rainbow can get. Deep red cheeks and about a 1" thick stripe.