Journal for 2009? (Edit: or 2012?)

F

Fishidiot

It's that time of year to decide whether we want to maintain a fishing journal for the new year. I'm undecided. Back in the 1980s I was a meticulous fly fishing journal keeper. Every trip I took was logged with info about the trip, fish caught, air/water conditions, flies used, etc. Half way thru the 1989 season I quit. Keeping the journal simply became work and I lost interest in it. It also occured to me that I no longer wanted to keep track of the fish I'd caught. In 2006, I kept a journal again for the first time in years and it was great fun and I seem to recall posting about it on this, or some other, website. Looking back at previous trips and the photos from them is enjoyable and, for folks with an aptitude for statistics, makes for interesting comparisons between years. Maybe 2009 will be another "journal year."

I've been keeping one for a couple years. It can't hurt, and it's always fun to read through it and remember the good days. It can be very useful to know exactly when a certain insect comes off the first time of the year and when the fishing is best, what flies work when, and so on.

Decided to keep one in 2008. First entry was 1/6, last entry was 4/26. Lost interest after that. Just now read it over and learned absolutely nothing useful other than how poor of an angler I was between 1/6 and 4/26.

I kept a journal 08', missed a few entries, misplaced journal, and had to keep some mental notes till I found it missed a few entries.
Journal is in the last 25 pages of a leatherbound pocket fly fishing guide book that was a gift several years ago. I would like to buy a dedicated journal and copy my logs on to it, but I haven't found a journal for fly fishing like this one has columns for air temp, water temp, species, fly selection, weather, date, times fished, special notes, equipment, etc. Makes it really hard to leave any details out. My journal has some sporadic entries back to 05' or so.