Want to start tying

B

bialeckij

I've been fly fishing for around 2 years now and want to get Into tying my own flies I was looking on cabelas they have starter kits do any of you guys recommend these or any other suggestions would be appreciated thanks

they are not bad, just some tools are on the cheap side. I do classes here at my shop, materials included if you are interested

The kit are pretty good I got one maybe 5 years ago and everything has worked great. I did have to add a washer to the vise clamp as it was beginning to wear.the kits are deal for the price

I have no experience with the kit you mention, but I do not recommend buying any of the kits I have seen.

However, I do see the difference in price between a cheap kit and a good vice, scissors and bobbin. The hair stacker, hackle pliers, whip finisher, bobbin, bobbin threader, bodkin, half-hitch tools, tweezers and dubbing twister in a kit may even be long term serviceable.

If you go this route understand that the vice, scissors and bobbin are likely to give you fits. Only you can decide if you are willing to put up with a vice that slips, scissors that don't always cut right and a bobbin that frays your thread.

If you can spare the extra min $200, I recommend going with good tools.

Sweat Jebus, people love to spent others' money.

Goto Cabelers and spend $40 to $55 (now $25 to 35 on sale) for one of their Toolkits With Cases. If you're feeling flush, add the cheapest ceramic bobbin they sell to your list.

The only thing in their kit that'll be of any trouble, at all, would be the bobbin. I'd suggest the $10 addition is well worth it.

Then, buy a box of hooks and whatever crap you feel the need to tie your first flies with. Keep it simple, and just pay attention to the ones you lose all the time (which is what, hare's ears and pheasant tails, right?), and just that.