Importance of wings on dry flies?

tabasco_joe

tabasco_joe

I am just getting into tying my own dry flies and the wings are the greatest challange. I was reading a book George Harvey narrated where he says the wings don't matter. Wondered if that really is true?

I disagree, The first thing a trout see's in his window is the tips of the wings, then the whole wing, body and tail last...lay in the water sometime and watch from below, the tips are first to be seen...

I think if you heavily hackled a fly you might be able to get away with it. Try using different materials. Try just tying the tail and the wings on a bunch of hooks and then as you get better at it, finish the fly. Since wings can be difficult I usually tie them in right after tying in the tail. The If I don;t like them, its easy to restart tying the wings again...then you can go ahead and dub and hackle and finish.

I don't think the wings matter on anything smaller than a size 18. Anything I tie that small I leave the wings off. Besides, even if the trout could make out the tiny edge of the wing against a tangle background of trees, etc., the trout would have to be keying in on that particular trait which is IMO at the bottom of the list.

Steve

On dries up to a size 18 I tie in burnt hen hackle wings on most of my dries and a few I use various died mallard flank. For #20 and smaller I usually use mallard wing feathers on my BWOs and Blue Quills. I find using burnt hen hackle to be fairly easy to tie in and makes a really nice looking wing. Find a burner set for around $10 at a good fly shop.

I don't think the wings are as important as they're made out to be. My favorite sulphur pattern on the SCPA limestoners is wingless and I do just fine on it. Up until about 2 years ago I never even tied wings on any of my dries and I caught just as many then as I do now on my winged flies. I think the hackle being there is enough for the trout. I think the trout are more worried about shape and size.