fly hackle sizes 8 - 12

redrockgrizzly

redrockgrizzly

i went to a local fly shop with a large selection of hackle and saddles. is it me or is anyone else finding it hard to find quality hackle in the larger sizes. i have a ton of necks and saddle hackle in sizes 14 - 20. everything now is being genetically engineered. i like to fish march browns, drakes, and large attractor patterns.
what does everyone here use for the larger flies.

I only buy the 100s pre-sized packs, but then again I am not a prolific tier, so a pack lasts me a year or two. They sell these in 12s, but I am not sure if they go any higher.

The 100's packs do only go as large as a size 12.

Redrock,
I think the only way to get quality dry fly hackle in the larger sizes is to buy a cape or half a cape. Half cape would save you a ton of money and still give you quite enough feathers for quite a few flies. But the problem is that the cape will have the small stuff too, and if your not looking for that stuff it's like wasting money.

This is metz hackle in a few colors all sized larger than 12. Not bad for $10.25

hackle link

Sorry for the long address, I'm at work and the link funtion is blocked by the computer.

I think saying you can find it on cabelas web site would have been better then making the thread a pain in the tuchus to read...

the metz 100's are very nice. I just started doing drys and have found the 14 to work pretty well for sizes 12-16. I found them at Bass Pro for $15 and they only had dun, brown and grizzly and only in size 14. So I need to make a trip out to cabelas or order online.

i may have to take a trip to cabelas to check them out. im just looking for an excuss to go.

Tom,
I was going to post extra large pictures, so count you blessings.

see, now your just posting to get extra stars in your rank.

:lol: :lol: :lol:

_stars++;

Although Jay is giving it his best..we'll never catch Jack...he must be the all-knowingest bestest rated fisher ever!!!!

Tom,