Beginning to tie--how I would have done it differently

Wildfish

Wildfish

Hi guys,
I'm still VERY new to tying. I started about 2 months ago, which isn't enough time to really know what I'm doing. However having just gone through the daunting process of acquiring tools and materials I thought I'd share my experience--you guys give such great advice, I can at least try to give some back right?

The holiday season is approaching, and I'm sure a lot of fly guys will want to take the plunge into tying. The problem is that the tools and materials are so specialized it's difficult to know what to get. I asked here on the forum and got terrific advice, but ignored most of it and bought a cabelas kit instead because I was afraid I wouldn't get the right stuff on my own. The result was a perfectly workable kit for a few flies, but sub-par tools and materials, most of which I've had to supplement or replace. So here's a list of what I WOULD have purchased had a known better. Of course this isn’t to say that I know what I’m talking about, just some thoughts. Note, early on I found I ended up tying what I use the most. So within reason look up those patterns and get that stuff too. However you'll also start by tying PTs, Hare's ears, buggers, etc. Prepare to spend about $100. If you don't at the beginning you’ll end up not having what you need and spending more overall anyway.

So, for the first purchase, the “just to see if I like it…” Nymphs only.

Vise: Cabelas AA or, if you want to splurge, cabelas super II or whatever bargain equivalent ($12-20).
These will work for now, and eventually, when you know how you like to tie, you'll want to spend some time shopping for something you really like. No sense breaking the bank now.

Tools: Dr Slick kit ($50).
I don't have this, but replaced a bunch of tools with Dr. Slick. I hope the bobbin in this kit is ceramic tip. You need it, esp as a beginner with thin line.