New to fly fishing and this forum

• Thread starter jandmcustomlures
  • Start date
J

jandmcustomlures

Hello Names Jay new to fly fishing although not new to trout fishing I have been pinning and drift fishing for Steelhead in the Ontario Tribs for a long time with my Father and Uncles. I am wanting to get out with the fly rod around Pa some more. I am from the Lake Ariel area. I am a total newbie when it comes to the fly rod. Any one intrested in getting out showing a newbie some basics would be great and I can also return the favor by getting you up to a few great places in upstate Ny. Pulaski is not the only place to fish ;)

Welcome! We are half a world a part, but I recommend looking for some get-togethers, (known as Jamborees, Jams, or mini-Jams as well as other names). People from the board get together occasionally and share information and a day of fishing and I am certain you'd be welcome at most any of them. This May 20-22 we are having our annual, traditional Jamboree and you are most certainly welcome there. It will be prime-hatch-time and one of the best periods of the year to experience the essence of fly fishing. The location, if I may opine, is also ideal for finding those hatches.

Oh, have a thick skin as we are a few really snobby about our method of fishing and you may get chided if you talk too much about the other methods.