Register now on PaFlyFish.com! Login
HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS

Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

List of navigable waters

From Dallas, Pa
I'm new to stream fishing, so this might be a stupid question. But... Is there a list of Pa streams that are considered navigable waters, that is, are open to the public?

Posted on: 2011/3/27 9:51

Re: List of navigable waters

From Fayette Co, Pa

Posted on: 2011/3/27 10:39

From Pretty much everywhere at some point, Thorndale today.
Tricky question. Yes and no. Here's a list I found, embedded in a document in 1914. At that time, the department of fisheries held these streams to be navigable. At this time, the courts consider any stream that is or ever was navigable to be navigable in their entirety. So legally, I think you could make a good argument for the navigability of every stream in this document, and your chances of winning in court would be excellent.

That said, many of these streams are posted. If you fished it claiming navigability, the system is that you and the landowner would go to court, and the judge would decide who was right, with you taking all of the risk. And only then would the final decision have been made. In other words, you have to challenge it in court before it's "official". Here's the link:

hit me

That said, the list of streams that have actually been challenged in court is much shorter. Off the top of my head (might be missing 1 or 2):

Delaware, Susquehanna, Lehigh, Juniata, Little Juniata, Allegheny, Monongahela, Ohio.

Posted on: 2011/3/28 8:28

From Lehigh Valley
Interesting list, except there appears to be some name changes...There's a Poco Poco or Big Creek "up to the falls."

I'm lost.

Posted on: 2011/3/28 9:38

From Eastern PA
That is interesting. Also of interest is page 161 where they discuss pollution cases.

Posted on: 2011/3/28 9:52

Can add the Youghiogheny or Allegheny River for a good river to float.