List of navigable waters

F

Frydaddy

I'm new to stream fishing, so this might be a stupid question. But... Is there a list of Pa streams that are considered navigable waters, that is, are open to the public?

http://www.fish.state.pa.us/county.htm

Tricky question. Yes and no. Here's a list I found, embedded in a document in 1914. At that time, the department of fisheries held these streams to be navigable. At this time, the courts consider any stream that is or ever was navigable to be navigable in their entirety. So legally, I think you could make a good argument for the navigability of every stream in this document, and your chances of winning in court would be excellent.

That said, many of these streams are posted. If you fished it claiming navigability, the system is that you and the landowner would go to court, and the judge would decide who was right, with you taking all of the risk. And only then would the final decision have been made. In other words, you have to challenge it in court before it's "official". Here's the link:

hit me

That said, the list of streams that have actually been challenged in court is much shorter. Off the top of my head (might be missing 1 or 2):

Delaware, Susquehanna, Lehigh, Juniata, Little Juniata, Allegheny, Monongahela, Ohio.

Interesting list, except there appears to be some name changes...There's a Poco Poco or Big Creek "up to the falls."

I'm lost.

That is interesting. Also of interest is page 161 where they discuss pollution cases.

Can add the Youghiogheny or Allegheny River for a good river to float.

I also would add that if you plan to float a river such as the Little Juniata (same goes for Penns) during some of April, all of May and parts of June you will be floating by dozens if not hundreds of anglers.

Those anglers will probably not be pleased you are drifiting 5 feet away from them. It would be legal and all but I do not think it would be very much fun getting cross looks from dozens of anglers.