Buying Flies

robbie514

robbie514

I am new to fly-fishing in general. I have quite a few questions, but the one I am asking is, can I cast a size 2 fly with a 6 weight fly, and what is the smallest fly a 6 weight rod would cast. I ask because I don't want to buy flies that are too big ang waist money, but I plan on tying flies eventually:) Like I said I'm new so I don't have too much common sense when it comes to fly fishing. Any information will be greatly appreciated.

The size does not matter to the rod casting except if it is too heavy to cast. Example your rod with a medium fast action could cast medium size bass flys such as Clousers with the dumbell eyes. It could also cast a size 24 Trico with out any problem. Fishing a very small fly may be a little problem with setting the hook and breaking them off due to a very light tippet. Also it is easier to present a small fly in low clear water without a disturbance with a lighter weight line. Many years ago we had rods called c instead of a 6 weight and there were not many lighter weights that I can recall.

Thank you addictedangler, your reply helped greatly.

robbie514 wrote:
can I cast a size 2 fly with a 6 weight fly, and what is the smallest fly a 6 weight rod would cast. .

Robbie,
There is no relation between the sizes of flies and the sizes of fly rods. Fly rods are numbered based on the size of the fly line that matches them. For example, a "6 Weight" rod uses a 6 Weight (6WT) fly line. As AA pointed out above, you can cast any fly that is not too heavy for the rod. A fly's weight depends on the materials it is made of - not the size number, which is merely the hook size.

A 6WT is fairly big for trout fishing and with that rod you can probably cast just about any trout fly you would likely be fishing with in Pennsylvania...and that includes the smallest flies.