Trouble Casting Large Flies

Wildbrowntrout

Wildbrowntrout

Last year I purchased a 9 foot, 9wt fly rod for musky fly fishing and I am having a lot of trouble casting any more than 25 yards max with wire leader and a dry 9" streamer. Is that normal or should I be able to cast further than that? Also, is it possible that the fly being wet would make it less wind resistant, making it easier to cast?

I'm no expert but when I'm casting big streamers my loops are anything but tight and sexy. I've never fished a 9" streamer but I would think if your casting within a couple meters of your backing that's a great cast with a 9" streamer.

25 yards should be a far enough cast.

WBT: No offense, but did you mean "yards" or feet"?

Yards yes. I just feel like I should be casting further to avoid spooking the fish. I suppose lawn casting might make it look a bit shorter than it really is. Then side question, if my hand and wrist hurt after about a half hour, would gripping the rod too hard be what causes that?

Agree that a 25 yard cast is quite good.

As one who does a fair amount of musky fishing, I have found that the large flies are much easier to cast if you double haul and use a shooting head. Even still, such a big fly can get pushed around by the wind and often seems to be all over the place in flight. It's an unusual feel if you're used to trout or small bass flies...and takes some gettting used to.
Dropping down to flies in the 6-8" range might make the transition a bit easier too.

Hand/wrist pain: I've been there.

The jump in rod/line weight without changing technique can cause mild overuse symptoms. One way to acclimate is to treat it like one would approach weight training. In other word, start out with short casting sessions with brief warm-ups and incrementally increase the number and length of casts. Warning: this may be boring.