Smallie Spawn

afishinado

afishinado

Staff member
The water levels in rivers during the spawn have a great effect on the spawning success of SMBs.

The spring flows have been very high this spring, but given the lower temps, perhaps spawning has been delayed a bit...I doubt it though. We must wait for the late summer shocking survey of YOY bass to answer the question.

To get the smallie population back to decent levels in many of our rivers we need a little luck and have a few years of low to moderate flows during the spawn.

Here is a link to an excellent report by the PFBC on the subject:

http://www.fish.state.pa.us/images/fisheries/info_sheets/smbass_yoy.pdf

Yeah - I'm worried too.

The last 2-3 years we seem to have these massive flood events during the late May early June critical time period.

I agree, we will have to see the upcoming YOY...but I'm not optimistic. :-(

I'm no expert, but I was on the J all day Musky fishing the day before the levels came up. Of all the smallmouth we caught (10-15), only one fish showed signs of spawning (marked up fins). We also looked for redds all morning and didn't see any in the shallow water. Hopefully the fish were either not spawning yet, or spawning in the deeper, more protected water since the water was already up pretty good. We can only wait to see

It's been stranger than I've ever seen. I fish Western Pa from the Youghiogheny to Erie, and everything is off with the lack of pre-spawn and spawning activity. The Erie area activity is the most distinct, and it's still not even what I would consider pre-spawn! It's more like late April than late May! As for most of the river and stream systems; it's been high water. REALLY high water. Last year was a very high water spring and summer in this part of the state, but things where still fairly "on time". I'm not sure what to think?

Have you noticed colder water temps then usual? ^