July saltwater

M

Mason5419

I have fly fished for trout for about 30 years, but I am new to salt water. Based on my few experiences over the last couple years...I am hooked! However, I lack the knowledge to know he best places to go within a days drive from central PA. I'm not looking for a spot burning thread, but rather generalities...primarily shore fishing locals. Can anyone point me in the right direction during mid-july PMs welcome)? Thanks in advance.

Mid July isn't the best time for saltwater FFing along the northeast coast. The beaches are crowded and expensive and many of the gamefish have migrated northward. With that said, there are fish to be caught - fluke and weakies are around and stripers can be caugh too although this is mainly a night game during summer for the shore bound angler. I like Island Beach State Park for FFing. There are many threads on IBSP here on PAFF if you do a search. If you're willing to drive 4-6 hours and can buck NYC traffic, the best surf fishing would be Montauk (east end of Long Island) but even Montauk is much better in Sept.

Unless you've got to combine FFing with a summer vacation....if you're serious about fishing, wait till Oct-Nov

Mid July isn't the best time for saltwater FFing along the northeast coast. I like Island Beach State Park for FFing.

I agree! I also love IBSP, but it stinks in the summer time. I've caught a few at night, with my 8wt close to the shore. But I usually just cast and swat mosquitoes!! There is a wild fox there at night, maybe a werewolf? ....... so pack your pistol!

My bro has a new 28.5' GW, two 250's and has been catchin' Yellowtails pretty good. He docks in Wildwood, NJ.
I'm heading down in a couple days and will be after tuna and dolphins (not the kind you see on the beach, the GREEN kind)
Only problem is: it's all trolling gear..... no fly rods allowed on his boat! LOL

My bro's son has a neat "summer house" in Wildwood Crest and I can stay there for a while.