winter fly fishing

buckmaster

buckmaster

I'm new to paflyfishing. So what's the best dry flys for November. Fishing Indiana and jefferson countys. I've been using adams and adams wolf late this summer and been doing well. Some nice warm days coming up. Need some info Guys

Small (18-22) BWO and midges (24-28).

I've not had much luck with BWO's but will give them try. Anything smaller than a 22 is to hard for me to tie and put the tippet through the eye. I have had good luck with stone fly's 14-16, fishing them slow on the bottom. Olive WB have done well for me too.

You asked about dry flies but I prefer to nymph fish during the fall-winter season. It can be ALOT more effective .

Try C&F fly threaders for threading small flies. They come in midge size

Those threaders work great. Come January/February the tiny winter blacks ( stoneflies )will be around, about 6mm long.

Small 18-22 Griffith if it's warmer day. But as they said most action is going to be had subsurface in the winter. Try small nymphs sz 18-22, and midges sz 20-smaller. Micro nymphing IMO is the best way to catch trout in the winter. I've had semi luck fishing on the surface during the winter, but that's usually warmer days where the sun is shining.

buckmaster wrote:
So what's the best dry flys for November.

Well, obviously, we're pretty much past that now, however, for November, I tend to do well on terrestrials such as hornets, flying ants and beetles. Usually by about this time at the end of the month when it gets cold, the terrestrial bite fades....but it never completely stops. If you find a sipping fish in mid winter, don't rule out a small ant or beetle - they still work. Otherwise, for winter the main dries I use (and I suspect this is true for up in your neck of the woods) would be black and cream midges, little black stones, and small BWOs.