What’s more important: pattern or the presentation?

skybay

skybay

This depends…

Attachments

• Guinness Beer Sign Pour Perfect Pint.jpg
    Guinness Beer Sign Pour Perfect Pint.jpg
    63.9 KB · Views: 15
You can take my opinion with a grain of salt, as I am a relative newbie, but IMHO presentation is more important. As long as you are relatively close on size and color of the flies you are using.

I also would think that the water type you are fishing will impact this. Riffles versus flat water; water clarity.

There are a lot of variables, but drag kills your chances.

( Qualified the crap out of that reply didn't I? :) )

IMHO, Presentation, the perfect matching fly might answer the Fly part of the riddle and get you into a fish now an then, but if you cannot answer the riddle of the presentation. You will inevitably deal with the skunk a lot. YMMV

Presentation by far. You will catch many more trout on the "wrong fly" than you will with bad presentation / drift.

I agree presentation is more important.

Presentation - by a mile.
I was fishing during BWO hatch yesterday evening.
I Was getting them on size 18-22.
I gave my friends a lot of my flies i tied and after awhile i realized i was out of them (20-22) . Did not want to ask them for my flies back so I decided to throw size 20 Sulphur and landed two nice ones. I thought it was crazy.

and you are right, please click on the Guinness picture (it will zoom in-show the real size in the separate browser window) and check the box #6

Presentation by a long shot, I talked to George Daniel about this the other day and he told me what I ve always thought "as long as you present it in the right way and it looks like food the trout will eat it"

Depends on the conditions and what you are fishing for. Most of the time presentation is key, but there are times when presentation and pattern are equally important.