Trout fishing on spring creeks

wgmiller

wgmiller

Being a newbie to fly fishing, my limited experience has been on two small Lancaster County streams - Donegal Creek and Lititz Run. These are two spring creeks both with stocked (and some wild) trout in them.

That being said, I've casted fly line about a half dozen times thus far and have been trout-skunked every time. I've caught a few chubs, but that's about it. The Lititz Run trout are pellet fed (as well as whatever natural food they eat) and seem to be pretty spooky. The Donegal trout are a lot less spooky, but I'm still finding them a challenge to catch.

When I first started fishing and fished the open waters with bait, I had no problem hooking up and landing some nice browns. Artificial lures yielded some nice rainbows. But since I've moved over to fly fishing exclusively, my ability to catch trout has all but evaporated.

I'm self-taught when it comes to casting, but for the most part my technique should be decent enough to catch fish (I don't slap the line down, etc.). My fly selection has been fairly basic consisting of San Juan worms, egg patterns, nymphs, etc. Haven't really done any dry fly fishing as of yet other than messing around here and there.

Is fly fishing that much less productive than bait fishing? Does removing the "scent factor" decrease overall fishing success? Is fishing small spring creeks that much more challenging?

I can see fish and cast to them, but they've pretty much been laughing at me. I'd also have to guess that perhaps this time of the year may have something to do with it as well.

Just looking for a little feedback on trout fishing on spring creeks...