Too late for stockies?

kenbo5733

kenbo5733

im new to fly fishing but have been able to catch a few trout this season so far, unfortunately where I live there are little to none wild trout waters and I have a feeling all the stocked trout will be taken already so should I target smallies or still give it a go for some stockies, im wondering when to u stop fishing for the stocked trout because in my neck of the woods the last time they stocked was almost mid april.

I'd give the stockers another month or so down in SE PA, but that being said it is also a good time for smallies. Just this week I was out fishing ATW for smallies and ended up pulling panfish, smb, and rainbows all out of the same spot. One rainbow was caught over a mile away from the nearest stocking point.

honestly look up and check out c&r waters near you, trout fishing is just getting good imo

Given the weather this spring, the relatively low angler use on many SE Pa streams after opening week...I would bet that you could find stocked trout still active in every stream that is stocked in SE Pa. except perhaps those like Tohickon Ck which are primarily supplied by impoundments with surface discharges.

Agree with Mike. I get reports from people every day. The water is still cool and there are a lot of stocked trout still in the SE streams.

The stocked trout fishing is really good right now!! I've found that many of the opening season fishermen and women are giving up by now. Some of the stocked creeks are restocked and plentiful.

I fish Pennypack, warm water in Phila and Montgomery counties, until mid June and heard of others who catch trout well into July. I guess you have to hit deep pools.

I've been catching a healthy mix of Bluegills, Fallfish and Trout for the last several weeks in SEPA Delaware & Chester Counties. I'd suspect the next week will be great with the falling temps.