Streams with natural trout reproduction?

T

tmk1086

I am very new to fly fishing so I'm still learning the concept of wild trout and wild trout streams. On the PFBC website when you go to the county guide and then click on a county there is a section under "trout" that says "Streams with natural trout reproduction." You click on that and find a PDF that lists tons of streams throughout the state. So does this mean that the streams listed here hold wild trout?

Yes. Fish born in a stream are considered "wild".

The streams on that list may not hold many wild fish though. And almost all streams that are stocked also hold hold some wild fish. These wild fish might be few and far between, and all of an unfishably small size in many (most?) cases. So this enormous list, is not a list of streams for someone looking for wild, untouched, remote streams. That would be the wilderness trout streams list. The Class A list is list of the densest (not neccessarily large individual fish) populations. Large individual fish are generally found in the richest environments; limestone streams and larger bottomland streams.

When you open the file, which as you wrote is quite large don't be missled, the streams are listed by the county where the mouth of the stream is. The answer to your question is yes.

And almost all streams that are stocked also hold hold some wild fish.

It's true that many stocked streams hold wild trout. (Or to put it another way, the PFBC stocks many wild trout streams.)

But to say that almost all stocked streams hold wild trout is stretching it quite a lot. Many stocked streams are completely devoid of wild trout.

In my experience it is worth exploring streams on the reproduction list, even though they aren't on the class A list. Streams with populations below Class A (as measured by the PFBC) can still offer fun fishing.