Stockie, holdover or wild?

evw659

evw659

rainbow

Caught this guy yesterday. the white tipped fins, good color, and sharp edged tail that you dont see on hatchery fish caught my attention and got me thinking. What do you guys think? im leaning towards holdover but dont know for sure.( sorry for displaying my whole photo album in the link, when i try to post just the pic it doesnt work.)

I'd say thats a stocked fish. As far as I can see the pectoral and anal fins are pretty torn up.

Stocked. Could be a holdover, or a fresh stocky in relatively good shape. But stocked.

The stream i was fishing is not stocked. Im not at all trying to argue or prove im right, im just confused. The stocked hatchery trout here in west central pa exhibit none of the qualities ( sharp edged tail, colorful adipose and sharp spotted dorsal fin ) as the fish i have shown. What am i missing here?

I could probably be convinced, I'm not very good with rainbows. Can say I've only caught them out of 4 different streams in PA (all of them known to have wild bows, but only one of them famous for it), and populations vary, so perhaps this is just a population I've not yet met.

But, the wild bows I have caught have no spots on the tail. The anal and ventral fins are nearly transparant, much moreso than your fish. And while the fins on your fish aren't "beat up", they're not perfect edges either, there's some roughness on the tail as well as the anal fin.

Spotted adipose and dorsal is common on PFBC fish, as is the spotted tail, but I'd allow that perhaps some other populations of wild bows in PA may have spotted tails, I really don't know the streams well enough. Most of my tentative ID is based on the color and condition of the anal and ventral fins.... I have to ask, the stream may not be stocked, but is it known to have wild bows?

Here's a wild one for comparison.

Attachments

• wild bow.jpg
    wild bow.jpg
    153.2 KB · Views: 4