New to Flyfishing

H

Homebrew13

Hello, I have wanted to learn to fly fish for years. I hike a great deal in central Pa. I always bring a spinning rod for brookies in some of the tiny creeks that I camp near, but I have felt it was cheating somehow. I just feel like fly fishing seems so much more natural. But I have just never had the time and never knew anyone once we moved to Philly (when I was 10) who knew how.

I purchased an Orvis rod, a number of books and some flies last year, but I haven't been very successful at teaching myself.

For Christmas my girlfriend took pity on me and got me the best gift. She will schedule a 1/2 day private lesson with on-stream instruction at either TCO or at the Sporting Gentleman.

I have read through this thread http://www.paflyfish.com/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?viewmode=flat&type=&topic_id=270&forum=4

And considering I am a newbie does it matter where I go? Any recommendations?

I currently live directly in downtown Philly. I am leaning towards Sporting Gentleman due to its proximity to Ridley Creek which I hear is very good to fish.

Welcome Homebrew13!
Seek out Mary Kuss at the Sporting Gentleman. She's got quite a few friends here on this board. You won't regret it......Ed

Yeah, Mary is a great teacher and person . I recomend the 4 hour private lesson. its about 125 bucks . A 20% coupon for the Sporting Gentleman is included with the lesson. So you get a lesson from a great teacher and save some bucks at the same time. Who can complain about that........Good Luck Homebrew13 and tell them Fred and ED sent you . :lol:

I live right in Philly as well. (Drexel university). If you ever need directions to some area streams, or perhaps any advice (i've been fishing long enough to give it.... i think) feel free to PM me- I'll give you my email.

Homebrew,