New Fly Fisher

CaptainHook

CaptainHook

Do you watch this show? I'm new to fly fishing and trout but I have 40 years of fishing experience including tournament bass fishing (don't hate me).

I'm out of fishing action waiting on surgery next week so I'm watching TV fishing. I just watched New Fly Fisher where they claimed to be catching 6-7 pound smallmouth one after another.

Now maybe my TV isn't displaying properly but based on those years of experience most of those six pounders were maybe four pounds in my opinion.

I'm fine with being told to buy a new TV. But, if you saw this smallmouth in Ontario show, please let me know if you saw 6-7 pound fish. And, like I said, he claimed this was the usual catch.

Not completely unheard of for size of smallmouth, but to be catching them in that size one after another? Hmmm.

I do realize it is Canada though. I hear tall tales from up there.

Was this person trying to push a guide service?

Canada uses the metric system. Maybe they had some problems converting. Just kidding. Anyway, I live on the USA side of Lake St. Clair and while the SMB fishing is good, it's not that good.

The primary sponsor of this episode was the Algoma District of Ontario which is where they were catching all these "monster" fish. I think that much to do with the hyperbole. And, it was unnecessary as the fish were an excellent size (4 plus pounds) and the guy gave out good fishing information.

I saw the episode. They were all nice smallies that they caught but I was a bit skeptical of the sizes they were tossing out there. The last big one of the show may have been close to what they stated, but I still think they were estimating high.