NC PA Outing - Day One

salmonoid

salmonoid

For the past ten years or so, I've been making a fishing pilgrimage to North Central Pennsylvania. I've been making the trip there for over twenty years, with the first half of that time primarily being weekend backpacking trips, until one fine winter day when I was sitting streamside eating some lunch. The snow squall that had been blowing broke, the sun came out, and I looked down on at least a dozen brookies sunning themselves in the pale winter sunlight. My wife wasn't so impressed, as it was cold, and why was I interested in fish in the middle of winter (and in the middle of nowhere)? Nevertheless, I vowed to come back the next year, in pursuit of Salvelinusfontanalis and thus began the yearly pilgrimage north in pursuit of brook trout. I don't have written record of numbers of fish caught in those first years, but I don't recall catching many (or any?) browns, and can recall one extended July 4th weekend that yielded over 130 fish!

This year, the streak of going looked like it might be broken, as the trip seemed in jeopardy. First, the individual I usually travel with just wrapped up his first year of residency, meaning he gets the short end of the stick when it comes to picking vacation dates. Summer dates are not in the near future for him. My backup individual also fell through. Personnel changes at work made getting away for even a few days difficult. When a window of two days emerged, the home front was viewing the lack of a companion as a sign that I shouldn't go. Nevertheless, that position was eventually abandoned, perhaps because my wife knew I would find a way anyway. And so it was that I found myself headed north last Wednesday.