Dry Flies...

O

od354

sense I am relatively new to flyfishing and dont have much experience, I was wondering if you guys could share some advice, tatics, or tips on fishing with dry flies...Thanks!

I used to underestimate it's importance, but getting the fly to ride the current with as little drag as possible is the key. If that is proving difficult at this stage, fish them in the fast current.

I'll second what Jack said. You can cast to a trout all day, changing fly after fly, but no matter what you're using, if your drift is dragging he probably won't go for it. Sometimes you can be in a spot that's difficult to get a good drift, but the first time you do you know it, and it's amazing how often a trout that was ignoring your fly will go after it this time.

do you hi stick in that situation? or do you use other tactics to get a good drift on your dry?

ryguyfi wrote:
do you hi stick in that situation? or do you use other tactics to get a good drift on your dry?
Short (unhelpful) answer: You do whatever you have to do! Highsticking is a nymphing technique, and it would be difficult and probably ineffective to use for dries. Normally you have to mend your line in some manner so that there is slack in the line. Usually an upstream mend, but it may be downstream depending on the current you're dealing with. You can also try casting from different positions. Maybe cast from upstream and let the fly drift down to the trout. And you can use different casting techniques. A reach cast kind of mends the line before it hits the water. Or a wiggle cast puts S-curves in the line. There are a lot of different situations and ways to solve them, but the idea is to prevent the current from pulling on the line/leader and therefore on the fly.

ryguyfi wrote: