Brookies 5/14- with video

sarce

sarce

In fishing, sometimes you have good days. Other times you have days that you will remember for a very long time. I'd put this past Wednesday in that last category. For months, fellow board member Ryan (Brownie101) and I had been exchanging PMs about some of our local SE PA wild trout waters which I have been fishing for several years. However, I've spent most of the last two years in State College either working or taking classes at PSU, leaving little time for fishing my home waters. Ryan's interest in these streams really got my attention. It was only a few short years ago that I was in his shoes, a rookie fly fishing addict trying to learn everything I could as fast as possible, exploring the exact same nameless creeks.

Finally this week, everything fell into place and we were able to meet up Wednesday evening for a few hours of fishing on a little-known brookie stream. I had not fished here since 2012. Stream conditions could not have been any better, slightly high and just a bit off-color. I started off with a big golden stonefly nymph and Ryan started with a woolly bugger. We each caught a few nice brookies here and there, eventually switching to dry flies as we encountered some shallower runs and pocket water. Ryan was kind enough to let me take the first shot at some of the best pools and most of them produced fish.

It was getting late but we both knew of one last spot that we had to hit. Ryan told me that this last pool gave up an 11" brookie earlier in the year. So of course, it was my turn to catch it. For once, things went exactly as planned and the big fish took the stonefly nymph on the first cast! I honestly did not think it was much bigger than 9 inches until I got it to my feet. After releasing that fish, we had to part ways.

Here's the video I put together of the outing. Ryan caught more than two fish, I just didn't get them all on camera.

Hometown Brookies (youtube)