old rod any ideas what brand?

K

kevin07

Picked up an old fly rod at the flea market the other day got it pretty cheap, was wondering if its any good or if anyone could tell what brand it might be. It looks like it had a cticker on it at one point with mabe the brand name but its pealed off now. Also how can you tell what weight it is? I put some 6wt line on and it seemed to have to much rod flex for it. At some of the guides the threads are coming unwrapped and i am planning on fixing them shortly.

Attachments

• 164.JPG
    164.JPG
    918.5 KB · Views: 3
  • 165.JPG
    165.JPG
    964.5 KB · Views: 3
  • 166.JPG
    166.JPG
    937 KB · Views: 2
Is it glass? I have a Horrocks-Ibbotson that looks a lot like that one.

I dont think its glass but im not sure its pretty light. I s there a way to tell? Im new to the whole fly fishing deal.

It's an early fiberglass rod, but I don't know the brand.

Im guessing its not worth much? I was planning on fishing with it unless it was worth something.

I sold a couple of them on Ebay awhile back. I at least got more than I paid for them.;-)

I had one when I was in my early 20s that looks a lot like yours.

Bikerfish knows his stuff when it comes to the old glass rods, but he might be away from the sife right now.

I'm here! need some better pics to tell what it is. any markings at all? what length is it? maybe a pic of the stripping guide as well, plus any decorative wraps it might have?

it is a glass rod, it will flex WAY more than a graphite rod while casting. that 6 wt is probably close to what it would be rated at. remember, most rods from back then started at 6 and went up from there. not many 4 or 5 wt rods from back then. a 6 wt was the classic trout wt.