help with fly line

fishrich

fishrich

I am new to fly fishing and need some advice!
I have a 3 wt rod, what kind (brand) of line do you think is the best? :-D

Cue the 65 different answers, followed by Mo saying that he uses the $10 stuff and it's just as good.

:)

In all honesty, i just use Cortland 444, but that's because I never tried anything else, and it has always worked fine. I don't think it matters that much. Fly lines are overpriced, in general.

On Sale and Cheap !!!

http://www.sierratradingpost.com/p/2249,83306_Orvis-Hy-Flote-Silver-Label-Fly-Line.html

I started with the scientific angler trout line,because it was cheap.I switched to orvis wonder line and I noticed a big difference.I wanted the silver label ,but since they did not have the color i wanted,I got the wonderline for the silver label price.(Barry at the sporting gentleman is a great guy)I do use the silver label on my bass rod and don't see much difference between the 2.(aside from the 20.00 difference in price)So I guess don't buy the cheapest line you can find,but don't spend a fortune either.
I noticed you live in ridley(I'm in swarthmore) if you ever want to hook up pm or e-mail me.I fish ridley ,chester, and all the local rivers and streams.
good luck

albatross wrote:
Here's the really cheap factory seconds line Discount Fishing Tackle.

thats what I usually buy...I did pick up an 8wt intermediate 2 years ago for 18 bucks on sale on the orvis site, though. And don't forget the leaders and tippet in the fall I bought for .29 each...good to check every now and then...If I didn't I would probably never buy Orvis anything...

After posting a similar question about a year ago, I bought a Cabela's Prestige Plus line. Good price and it has done well so far.