Tents

Bruno

Bruno

So I found myself in charge of buying my nephew a tent. My sister pays the bill and I just buy. Don't know much about them anymore as I have been using the same old Kelty tent for the past 20 years.

I would like to get him a 2/3 man tent of some good quality. I am leaning towards the kelty tents but wanted to throw it out there and see what you all like.

kelty or eureka, both decent priced and decent quality.
check out campmor.com.
I use a eureka apex 2xt, super easy to put up, never leaked, two doors, 2 vestibules. perfect size for one person, ok with two people. I'm sure they make a bigger one for 3.
might be able to find one at dicks or dunhams.

Check out Sierra Trading Post. Lots of Kelty on their. Make sure you google for discount codes prior to buying as you can always get another 20-40% off the sale price.

http://www.sierratradingpost.com/search/SearchResults.aspx?allwords=Tent&searchdescriptions=True

Another vote for Kelty. Bought mine in the early '90's and it's still in great shape.

peace-tony c.

Not suggesting this for your nephew, I'd go nylon all the way there.

But I've had several nylon tents in the last 5-10 years, including a Cabelas brand, Eureka, and I think a Coleman. I've been having problems with the waterproofness of them. They're good for about 3 or 4 multi-day trips (meaning 1-2 years total for me) before they start leaking, and I don't mean that there's a tear or something, I mean the nylon stops being waterproof. Don't know if its UV damage or what. Anyone else have this problem?

Now entering the tent market and determining whether to go nylon again, or something else. Nylon is cheap, light, easy to put up, etc., and I could just consider it a consumable. But I was thinkin about goin with a good canvas tent which I suspect would last a lot longer. I do mostly car camping anyway, and I could hold onto my current nylon one for hikes, assuming no rain. Any thoughts?