Recommend a chest pack?

M

mgh-pa

Alright. Plans are definitely to get on the water this year (I'm a noob). I have a vest that I used when spin fishing, but I don't like the bulk or the fit. I'm thinking a nice chest pack would do the trick, stay lightweight, and work best overall. Problem is, I really only hear of fishpond being discussed on here. Are they the go to brand? Any recommendations for $60-$70 max? I don't need a HUGE carrying capacity, but I'd like to be able to carry the essentials. So, what are you thoughts?

L.L Bean has a really nice chestpack that is just the ticket for short adventures. I just received mine, and it's the best $39 I've spent in a long time.

There's some good stuff on this site MRFC

I'm still kicking myself for not jumping on that Fall sale with Loon and their chest pack with a hydration bladder for $15!!!

Go try them on somewhere. If it's not comfortable, don't get it. Put some stuff in the pockets, walk around for a while. I have a chest pack and it's ok for what I want it for right now. I'd rather have more storage up front, rather than a large pocket in the back. I'm stuffed full with 3 fly boxes, tippet, indicators and shot. It would be nice to have a bit more room. You'll appreciate it once you accumulate more "stuff". I do like the large back pocket to keep a rain coat in and stuff I don't use regularly but practically I use the stuff in front every time I fish.

I decided to ditch the vest last year because I am a heavy guy, 5'9' 230 lbs. I sweat with waders and a vest on even in early spring on some warm days, and in summer I suffer. I bought this,

http://www.basspro.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/Product_10151_-1_10001_91536_175008000_175000000_175008000_175-8-0