Need help on a new rod.

Railking

Railking

So I have haven't been fly fishing very long. I started on a borrowed Scientific Angler 5 weight to see how I'd like it. As with most of you, after my first fish, I immediately fell in love with the sport. Before fly fishing, I was a pretty accomplished spin fisherman, but I felt I needed a change. I searched high and low for a decent used rod, and finally settled on a Redington RS-3 I found on craigslist for $125. I fished it at least twice a week all summer long. This past weekend I went out to DHALO area on Yellow Creek and it happened. The eyes on my rod were freezing every few casts and while cleaning them out, I somehow tweaked the tip enough and SNAP. I figure there was a crack or abrasion there and it just had enough. Now I'm without a rod and on the hit for a replacement. I've narrowed it down to a few rods and am looking for some input. I'm not looking to break the bank. I'm a novice and don't think I could tell the difference between a 200 dollar rod and an 800 dollar rod. So my options are;
1. Echo carbon 5 wt
2. Allen ATS 4 or 5 wt
3. Cabelas LSi 5wt
4. R.L. Winston Passport 4 or 5 wt
5. TFO Lefty Kreh Finesse 4 wt
Anybody fish these rods? Reviews all seem pretty good on them. I'm kind of leaning toward the Echo, but they all seem like pretty decent low end rods. I fish mostly small streams and occasionally the Little Juniata or Yellow Creek. Just too many choices and too little cash flow.

If you can try and get to the shows and cast them or a shop. Can't help with any of the rods you mentioned by each probably had a following.

Dear Railking,

You may also want to contact Redington regarding getting your rod repaired. If the price is reasonable enough it might worth your while to have it as a spare.

Regards,

Tim Murphy :)