Does anyone tie there own leaders?

Jimbot

Jimbot

After reading Dynamic Nymphing by George Daniel. I purchased some gold stren and some cortland indicator mono, and briefly tied my own nymphing leaders. It didnt last long.

But I did enjoy making them, and the price point was pretty good.

Recently i dug up some dry fly leader recipes, went to Dicks and purchased a bunch of mono. (by one get one 1/2 off all lines) . I tied up a bunch of leaders...they seem clunky but i followed the recipes to the T. I am excited to try them tomorrow morning.

I first turned to the Forum for recipes, but could only find some brief statements concerning Furled leaders.

So I figured Id post it up. Anyone prefer their own custom leaders?

I often will frankenstein my knotless leaders till they basically are custom. But this is my first attempt at it purposefully.

Anybody?

-bot

I have, from time to time. I don't find them better, or worse, than tapered leaders ( which I also Frankenstein).

I use a drop of glue which I cure with a UV light to smooth out the knots. I also use a desktop nail knot contraption, which speeds up the process.

I like both of those tips.

Ive had that bloodknot helper tool in my basket a few times....just never clicked purchase.

Heres my recipe I went with

7'-4x

14" of 25 lb

14" of 20 lb

14" of 15 lb

12" of 10 lb

12" of 6 lb

18" of 4x nylon

add 5x as needed

I build my own leaders and can't remember the last time I used a store made tapered leader. I was also using bright colored Stren built into sections for visibility going back to the early 1980s (and so were some other members of this forum). Bright leader sections aren't new.