Do you recommend fly "kits" or purchasing flies seperately?

M

mgh-pa

Am I better off (I'm new to this remember) purchasing flies in a kit (like 25-50pc) or purchasing patterns individually?

I'd say the kit is probably cheaper. You might get more for less, however, you might not get all the flies you want though. Have you considered tying? THat is ultimately the cheapest route to go.

I will most likely eventually tie, but not now. I don't have the time to learn. Probably next winter once the wedding is over and we're settled into the house.

I was looking at this kit that came recommended when I added my rod setup into the cart at Cabelas. What do you think?

http://www.cabelas.com/cabelas/en/templates/product/readonly-item.jsp?id=311707&podId=0051114&productId=0051114320386a&itemTemplate=item-added&cmCat=null&hasJS=true

Or what about this?

http://www.cabelas.com/cabelas/en/templates/product/standard-item.jsp?_DARGS=/cabelas/en/common/catalog/item-link.jsp_A&_DAV=MainCatcat20431-cat380002_TGP&id=0010919310308a&navCount=2&podId=0010919&parentId=cat380002&masterpathid=&navAction=push&catalogCode=IK&rid=&parentType=index&indexId=cat601233&hasJS=true

You're certainly better off buying flies individually rather than getting a fly kit. It's hard to tell from the links you provided, but I would guess you probably would end up wasting money on flies you'll never need/use. Also, those kits come down to about a $1 a fly, there are cheaper sources out there were you can get flies for $.50 each.

I agree with Jason. There are good kits out there, especially ones meant to cover you for an individual hatch. If you're starting from scratch, not a bad idea at all. Like now, if I didn't have any BWO's of any type, I'd consider a BWO kit, with nymphs, emergers, and duns of the same insect.