Buying a new rod. Advice wanted.

ThePharmacist

ThePharmacist

I'm getting back into fly fishing and would like to get myself a decent set-up for all around trout fishing in Western PA. Starting off I plan to fish the special regulations sections of Dunbar Creek, Laurel Hill, and the Loyalhanna. If you were to choose 1 set-up for these waters to allow you to fish with weighted nymphs as well as dries, which weight and length would you choose.

I'm ready to pull the trigger on an 8 ft 4wt Echo Carbon fitted with an Orvis BBS reel.

I'm probably way over thinking it... I actually lost sleep over it last night!!! I went out looking at rods today but since I have little experience I cannot convince myself that any rod will be perfect. I could probably give or take 1-2 rod wts and 6 - 18" and have a fine set up that would "work".

Thanks!

ThePharmacist wrote:
I'm getting back into fly fishing and would like to get myself a decent set-up for all around trout fishing in Western PA. Starting off I plan to fish the special regulations sections of Dunbar Creek, Laurel Hill, and the Loyalhanna. If you were to choose 1 set-up for these waters to allow you to fish with weighted nymphs as well as dries, which weight and length would you choose.

I'm ready to pull the trigger on an 8 ft 4wt Echo Carbon fitted with an Orvis BBS reel.

[color=CC0000]I'm probably way over thinking it... I actually lost sleep over it last night!!! [/color][color=CC0033]I went out looking at rods today but since I have little experience I cannot convince myself that any rod will be perfect. [/color]I could probably give or take 1-2 rod wts and 6 - 18" and have a fine set up that would "work".

Thanks!

Pharmacist,

A 8-9' / 4 or 5 wt rod would work just fine, but no rod is perfect for all conditions. I like tend to favor a little longer rods for more open water for better line control. Test cast a bunch of 4 and 5wt rods and pick the one that best suits your casting style.

BTW, take a Xanax!!! ;-)