Tying questions...

K

kbkpitt

I am new to fly tying and have been wondering about a few things.

1. Thread size. I see 6 or 8...140 denier. Help me understand all this? Also brands...what's good, bad, or indifferent? A certain box store (orange check out bags) carries a brand I was not familiar with and it looks like a private label. Avoid or is it okay?

2. Hook size for nymphs vs dry? a size 12 hook for a glo bug or Nymph is not the same as a size 12 hook for a dry fly. Why?

I also see standard, 2 x, or 3x....and what does this mean?

Last one...Catskill original style patterns or go with a more modern method? What I've learned about FF is there is never a "right" way, but I am a traditionalist.

Thoughts?

1) Thread size -- there are two systems for measuring thread size the "ought" system (6/0, 8/0, etc) and the denier system. In the former, the larger the number, the thinner the thread. Unfortunately, it isn't based on any standard; one manufacturer's 6/0 is going to be a different diameter than another's. In general, though, 6/0 is probably going to be used for streamers and 8/0 or finer for dry flies.

The denier system is based on a standard -- unfortunately, that standard is based weight, not diameter. 140 denier means that 9,000 meters of it weighs 140 grams.) The larger the number, the heavier the thread. You might be using 70 denier for dry flies and 300 denier for streamers, but again how thick it is varies.