Mini dungeon question

Bocianka1

Bocianka1

I'm looking at tying mini dungeons as my first articulated streamers. I saw D-Nymph made a few that was posted awhile back. I thought maybe he or some other tiers might be able to clear something up for me.

I've watched Kelly Gallups videos for both the Sex Dungeon and the mini Dungeon. It appears the weighted eyes are attached on the curved side of the hook. wouldn't that make them ride hook pointing down? I have little experience with weighted eyes, but the few i have used were placed specifically to weight the hooks point up. I would think with a bottom dragging streamer such as this that it would be tied with the eyes on the opposite side of the hook, so the hook rides point up. the way i snag things, i can all the help i can get avoiding losing flies, especially big ones such as these.

Am i missing something or was it designed that way on purpose? Can you tie it either way? thanks for your help.

It's definitely tied to ride point down. I don't see why it couldn't be tied the other way around. there's probably something I'm missing since Ive only tied a handful of articulated streamers in my life.

Galloup designed them to ride point down. If you prefer them to ride point up tie them the same way but finish the head as shown in this video.

Stay tuned... I'm working on a demo video and should be done tonight.

Attachments

• mini 2.jpg
    mini 2.jpg
    180 KB · Views: 22
Bocianka1 wrote:
I would think with a bottom dragging streamer such as this that it would be tied with the eyes on the opposite side of the hook, so the hook rides point up.

I don't believe KG ties them with the intent of the being "bottom draggers." If you read any of his writing or watch his videos you'll notice he emphasizes free swimming streamers fished in the middle and top of the water column.

Yes, they have lead eyes, but that is offset by the deer hair collars and heads. (Which should not be tied densely as with a deer hair bass bug).