Materials for beginner

G

greenhead55

I am new to fly tying and had a few questions on materials. What flies should I start out with ? I would like to tie mainly for trout and later in the summer tie for steelhead. What materials do I need to buy to get me started and what size & style hooks will I need. Thanks guys !

When I took my fly tying class, we tied 2 flies each week for 10 weeks
First 2 flies were white marabou and black nose dace streamers
The next week we tied muskrat and hares ear nymphs
The 3rd week we tied ants, beetles, and inch worm - easy ties
4th week we finally tied some serious stuff - light cahill and adams dry flies
I took this class 25 years ago now, but looking back, I would still recommend the same flies for beginner tyers

I would added sucker spawn to the list- easy and a killer pattern

Two more to add to the list-Crystal Meth or Crystal Spawn as some call it and the Green Weenie.

Mustad 3906 Hooks are perfect for the Sucker Spawn and Crystal Meth. Crystal braid is all you need for the CM pattern. I prefer Angora yarn when tying Sucker Spawn. You can also tie Scrambled Eggs and the Blood Dot, which are variations and pretty simple and effective ties. Glo Bug yarn works well for this. Get a wide variety of colors--"hot" colors work well in stained water, whereas I find that the pale colors fish better in more clear conditions.

Green Weenie- Chartreuse chenille tied on a streamer hook, with or without bead. I like the Diachii 2220 in sizes 12 and 14. I also weight these with a few wraps of lead free wire.

I got a kit at Cabela's of the essential materials thread and hooks it is priced reg. at $50.00 I got it on sale for $30.00. It has served me well starting especially considering all the mistakes I make. The amount of hooks alone is probally close to a $30 value. They are Lightning strike.

OK guys info is great but I have another question about the hooks. I am looking at these
Hook Link