Fly tying materials online

jeremymcon

jeremymcon

I have no doubt that this question has been answered a million times on the forum, but with the way the search function works, I can't find a thread about it. I'm brand new to tying (actually haven't tied a single fly yet), but am in need of a few materials to start. I bought a partially complete tying kit, but I still need some things like thread, wire, etc. I also need tools like fine tip scissors, possibly a whip finisher. Any suggestions for cheap/reasonably priced tying materials online?

www.jsflyfishing.com

bearsden.com

scott and sarah are very knowledgeable about & buy good feathers, bucktails etc. & will back order stuff for you. and they only charge the ACTUAL shipping cost which is important when you just need one pack of hooks or one bobbin of thread.

double post. so here's a pic of big bow :

normal_img_1730.jpg

whats wrong with a local fly shop?

otherwise

bears den

j stockard

feather craft

the fly shop

hook & hackle

bearlodge angler

blue ribbon flies

performance flies

allen flyfishing (for hooks)

outfitters who happen to have a fly shop in the store

cabelas

gander mountain

bass pro shop

dont forget about your big box craft/hobby/sewing stores. they are excellent places to get fly tying materials

that should get you started

if you are just starting out I'd recommend a visit to a fly shop. you can ask questions about the materials and get other tips. Rabbit or beaver? partridge or grouse? Z-lon or spooled antron? Is loose muskrat fur better than taking it off the pelt? uni-thread or UTC strand thread?
Typically there is no significant savings (well, hooks and beads the exception), but you can get an education if you visit the right shop. More than beginners could benefit. I've been tying for 30 years and I recently got a great recommendation for a new style of hackle pliers from the staff at FFP in state college.