First Fly Tying Kit

B

BaronvonFly

Hello again folks,

I have been shopping around for a beginners fly tying kit. I will be starting from absolute scratch. I have found two options that look comparable for about the same price. I am just looking to see what some of your opinions may be on either one of these products.

https://www.basspro.com/shop/en/white-river-fly-shop-deluxe-fly-tying-kit-trout-tying

https://www.orvis.com/p/encounter-fly-tying-kit/2bt2

That being said, I don't want to dive head first into it before I am certain it is going to be for me. I am fully aware I would need to add and upgrade this equipment if I continue to tie. I like the fact that it comes with all/most of the tools I would need to start, materials to tie a few flies and an instructional video. By all means, if you feel there is a better or more cost effective way to go about trying/getting started tying my own flies, I am open to hear your suggestions.

Thank you,
Kirk

I have no experience with either kit, but based on Orvis vs BassPro, coupled with the reviews posted, I'd pick the Orvis kit.

It probably doesn't even need said, but be prepared to invest more into gear and supplies, after you get going.

Do you have anybody local that you could tie with, and maybe borrow gear, until you decide what you want? It may help to prevent a pile of unused vises and tools as you upgrade.

That is a great suggestion. Unfortunately, I do not know anyone personally, locally in Lancaster that ties.

I was leaning toward the Orvis kit just for the name. Just wanted to get a few opinions. I am fully aware I will need to upgrade if I continue to tie, but just looking for a budget friendly place to start.

Thanks for your response.