Does it have to be "fly" thread?

J

joseywales

I'm new to fly tying and am curious about materials. I see Kevlar thread, etc. I would think standar sewing thread might not hold up to wear, water, rot, etc. But I was at a thrift store and couldn't pass up a bag of thread and tools. There were two pair of scissors, one of which was very neat. They are pretty old and don't have the ring for your thumb and finger. They are more like tweezors, except they have thin, sharp scissor ends. I like those a lot.

Anyway, there was a lifetime's supply of cream, or caddis, colored thread that is labeled as Kevlar. I figure that would work great. The other spools are labeled as carpet or button thread, extra strong, etc. Would they be ok? Keep in mind, I doubt I'll be tying more than a couple patterns.

EDIT: Never thought I'd say this, but I'm gonna need a bigger bobbin...

No, it doesn't have to be 'fly thread".

All the same, you'll have some issues with the way you're considering doing it. The first and foremost will probably be thickness. Most conventional sewing thread is pretty heavy for (trout) fly tying use and this can mean lumps of thread or oversized heads on your flies. This is mostly a cosmetic issue, but sometimes it can matter from a fishing standpoint. For the sake of durability, you probably would also want to steer clear of cotton thread for the most part and use nylon or some other synthetic.

Be careful with kevlar. It can be nasty and cut your fingers because of its strength. Additionally, most kevlar thread I've seen is also too large in diameter for use on smaller, trout-sized flies. Its good thread for making big flies for pike, bass, etc. though.

Thanks. I found several threads, no pun, on this topic via the Search function. Seems the Coats & Clark thread I have is good for midges.

Thanks for the advis eon the Kevlar. The spool I have seems very thin..600+ yards.