Deer hair stacking question

1manwolfpack

I wanted to try tying some dahlberg divers and had a question after my first attempt. Wanted to know if anyone had some advice on how to keep the deer hair on the top and not spin around the hook shank. Would putting a thread base down help to keep the hair from spinning? Any advice would be appreciated, thanks.

I just keep my fingers pinched on the bottom so it can't spin, if this doesnt work, hold the hair right where you are going to tie it in, and do tight wraps.

Here's a nice article by Whitlock:

Tying With Deer Hair

I'm still a newbie at tying but for me the solution was pinching really tight, painfully tight, and using your index finger as a backstop.

1. yes to the thread base
2. try and get your thread wraps DIRECTLY on top of the previous one to keep things tight.
3. use a tiny drop of super glue on the thread base/shank before stacking the top portion

I used to have that issue a lot.

2 things that I found really helpful:

cover shank with a thread base in the area of the deer hair tie-in... and give it some "texture" with a top layer of loosely spaced wraps in a spiral. That gives a little resistance to spinning.

tie off with onlt 2-3 tight wraps, and then take the next wrap half way through the short clump (the "head"), then wrap around the hook. seems to "cinch" it nicely.

One of the most important things to remember is technique and thread control.

When wrapping first couple wraps around the deer hair your bobbin should be ABOVE THE HOOK SHANK WHILE TIGHTENING. Once secure then normal tightening wraps can be made.

All of the above comments also come into play and are good, but remember to pull up on the thread when setting the deer hair into position.

Thanks everyone! I'll put the tips to use at the vice tomorrow. I'd post a pic of it wasn't such a PIA, but I'll let you know how I make out