Canada goose wings for tying

bigslackwater

bigslackwater

A hunter friend of mine gave two full wings off a goose. I'm aware of biots but what other uses can I get out of these wings for tying? What should I do to preserve and store it? Right now I have two full wings clipped off the bird and hanging in a grocery bag in my shed. It's freezing cold out there so I figure I have a little time. Please excuse my ignorance as I'm not a hunter and I'm a novice tier!

I like goose quills for strip wings on steelhead wets. Not sure about preserving. I salt any exposed "meat" until it's dried out. I like to leave feathers in the freezer for a month. Then a sprinkling of borax and stored in a Ziploc bag. I used moth balls before and it was harsh.

Not sure what's correct but that's what I do.

Ok. I'm gonna look in to borax. There's definitely some meat on these things. I could pluck the feathers but I envision a giant mess.

you are quite lucky!!!

i love goose quills for wet fly wings.

salt and or borax should do the trick.i always have tons of borax around.

you don't want to pluck them ahead of time.each time you pluck a feather,you want to use the matching feather from the other wing.

so,a right secondary quill and he matching left secondary quill would

be used to make the wings on a fly

They can be used for quill wings on larger wets and dries, and are actually a little more durable than duck quills. I also occasionally make wrapped bodies with goose quills.

wings on wet flies

wings on dry flies

biots for bodies, tails, wing case on small nymphs etc

wing cases on nymphs

1 or 2 fibers can be used as bodies/thorax

fibers can be used for tails

If you do find a need to pluck them before or after they're dry. Pluck them in pairs right/left and put em in a zip-loc bag together. I pretty much do what Turkey does, I've got a couple of sets of duck wings I've had for years and they're ok. Just make sure they're completely dried out before storing them.