Penns Creek - Lancaster Sunday News article

wgmiller

wgmiller

http://lancasteronline.com/sports/outdoors/penns-creek-brown-trout---they-re-big-there/article_ceca78da-e9d9-11e4-aff7-3b2fea5d3ba9.html

Censored

He sort of writes the same article every year.

I'm brand new to fly fishing (and little trout experience). Why does this article rub some of you the wrong way? I have no idea and I'm curious to learn. Thanks.

CaptainHook wrote:
I'm brand new to fly fishing (and little trout experience). Why does this article rub some of you the wrong way? I have no idea and I'm curious to learn. Thanks.

Doesn't really rub me the wrong way. Some will say it is a "spot burning" article and attracts unnecessary attention to Penns Creek. Others will say there are absolutely o secrets about one of the top five most popular streams (IMO) in the State.

The writer doesn't often write about fishing but again, seems like every year around this time he writes about his trip to Penns Creek.

I suspect the issue at hand is potentially drawing extra attention to Penns Creek heading into Spring hatch season, if that’s even possible.

This is a small newspaper out of Lancaster County. Penns Creek is probably the most widely known wild Trout stream in PA. Anyone reading this who is willing to drive 2+ hours to Trout fish already knew Penns was there and what it is. Anyone fishing the stocked farm ditches in Lanc. Co. looking for dinner doesn’t care. FWIW, the article is pretty much on point IMO…lots of fish, and a fair amount of decent sized ones, all of which are difficult to catch MOST of the time.

Penns Creek sucks

good article, thanks for sharing - i didn't know the upper section fished all summer.

Don't want to be a bandwagoner but I am interested in fishing Penn's Creek during my upcoming "PA Expedition". (Planned long before this article appeared.)

That said, where is the "Penn's Creek Trestle"? How does one get to it?