Little Juniata River Shuttle

P

PATroutMan

Not sure if this would be the right forum..

Planning on floating the little juniata river tomorrow starting up at Tyrone and finishing near river rd and rt 305 bridge. I asking if anyone knows of a service that would be able to give me a ride back up to tyrone to get my car, or if any fisherman plan on being in the area could lend me a hand, PM welcome.

Thanks

I believe Rothrock Outfitters in Huntingdon will provide that service for a fee.

http://www.rothrockoutfitters.com/

I have no experience with them.

Stick yer thumb out if all else fails

Canoe trips are my thing and all of them have been in NC, PA, VA, and WV. Since I am driving long distances to get there it is really important that I have the shuttle arranged so I can limit this to one vehicle.

What has worked for me is to contact the local Chamber of Commerce to find local bait shops or retirees who they might know who I can hire to drive a vehicle from "put in" to "take out" for me. It has worked many times and eliminates having two fisherman deal with two vehicles to make a long day/weekend even longer.

Good luck!

When you say hire someone to drive a vehicle from "put in" to "take out" what do you mean by that? Do you give them your keys and they drive your vehicle from the put in to take out or something else?

Yes. It has worked well and I have made friends doing this. They ride with me to the "put in" and after I unload everything I give them the keys and they make sure my truck is there at the "take out" at the end of the canoe trip.

The "key" to a successful shuttle is to not misplace your keys. :)

You said a mouthful right there DW.

Car keys, or the lack thereof, can really screw up a day.
Still not over it completely.

DaveS wrote:
You said a mouthful right there DW.

Car keys, or the lack thereof, can really screw up a day.
Still not over it completely.

Yesiree bobby.